

# Local Government (Electoral Legislation and Māori Wards and Constituencies) Amendment Bill

Presentation to local government sector officials – 7 April 2024

### The Bill

- Two key parts to the Bill:
  - 1. polls on Māori wards and constituencies
  - 2. adjustments to election timing to address postal pressures
- Proposed timing:



## Māori wards poll provisions

- Restoring the pre-2021 poll provisions:
  - polls can be demanded by 5% of electors
  - outcome is binding for two triennial elections
  - councils can also initiate a poll.
- Possibly preserving some of the timing improvements for representation reviews
- These changes will come into force after the 2025 local elections

## Māori wards polls – transitional measures

- Unaffected councils
  - Bay of Plenty Regional Council
  - Waikato Regional Council
  - Wairoa District Council
  - Ōpōtiki District Council
- Special case
  - Tauranga City Council (Extended implementation will not affect 2024 elections)
- Affects 45 councils which established Māori wards, or have resolved to establish Māori wards, since the 2021 legislative changes.

#### Reverse the decision, or hold a poll?

- OPTION In August/early Sept 2024 councils can resolve to reverse their recent Māori wards decision by:
  - Rescinding the resolution (for the 13 councils which have not established yet)
  - Resolving to <u>disestablish</u> Māori wards (for the 32 councils which established the Māori wards for the 2022 local elections
- Rescind/disestablish decisions will apply to the 2025 local elections.
- Councils are not required to consider this, it is optional.
- The Special Consultative Procedure will not apply.
- No reversal decision? Then councils must hold a poll at 2025 elections outcome to apply from 2028.

#### Implementing a reversal decision for 2025

Councils that resolved this term to establish Māori wards (13 councils)

- Two choices:
  - Option AA Complete a shortened representation review process by 10 April 2025.
  - Option AB Continue with your 2022 representation arrangements [some limitations under development]
- AA councils next representation review will be due in [2030/31-tbc]
- AB councils will need to do a representation review in 2027/28

#### Implementing a reversal decision for 2025

Councils that established Māori wards for 2022 (32 councils)

- Two choices (to be confirmed):
  - Option 1A Complete a shortened representation review process by 10 April 2025
  - Option 1B Roll back to most recent-pre Māori wards arrangements [this option is still to be confirmed and may only be available to some councils]
- 1A councils next representation review will be due [in 2030/31 tbc]
- 1B councils will need to do a representation review in 2027/28

### **Tauranga City Council**

- Similar options, longer timeframe for decisions.
- Same option to disestablish Māori wards via resolution, to take effect from 2028 local elections.
- Default requirement to hold a binding poll by early 2027, with effect from 2028 local elections.

### Changes to the elections timeline

- Addressing:
  - postal pressures, including new delivery model
  - "pain points" in the election timing
- Voting period extended from 22.5 days to 32.5 days
- Delivery period extended from 6 days to 14 days
- Some other adjustments e.g. slightly shorter nomination period
- Changes will apply to 2025 elections onwards (and to by-elections and polls)
- 2025 voting period will start on 9 September

### Next steps

- Zoom with all council electoral officers 3pm Monday 8 April
- Confirming the details of the transitional mechanism
- Drafting the Bill
- Vetting for compliance with the NZ Bill of Rights Act
- Cabinet approval of the Bill
- Bill introduced/published [est. late May 2024]
- Select committee review (approx. 4 weeks) [est. June 2024]
- Parliament considers any recommended changes
- Bill enacted [est. late July 2024]
- Timing may change

### Appendix: Councils affected by transitionals

Established for 2022			Due to establish for 2025
Far North District	Palmerston North City	Whakatane District	Central Hawkes Bay District
Gisborne District	Porirua City	Hawke's Bay Regional	Hauraki District
Hamilton City	Rangitīkei District	Horizons Regional	Hutt City
Hastings District	Rotorua Lakes	Northland Regional	Kapiti Coast District
Horowhenua District	Ruapehu District	Taranaki Regional	Kawerau District
Kaipara District	South Taranaki District		Napier City
Manawatu District	Stratford District		South Wairarapa District
Masterton District	Tararua District		Tasman District
Marlborough District	Taupo District	Established for 2024:	Thames-Coromandel District
Matamata-Piako District	Waipa District	Tauranga City Council	Upper Hutt City
Nelson City	Waikato District		Western BOP District
New Plymouth District	Wellington City		Whanganui District
Ōtorohanga District	Whangarei District		Wellington Regional