

# **KAWERAU DISTRICT COUNCIL**

Speed Limits Bylaw 2011

#### **Kawerau District Council**

#### **Speed Limits Bylaw 2011**

#### **Explanatory Statement**

Land Transport Rule: Setting of Speed Limits 2003 contains procedures whereby road controlling authorities may set enforceable speed limits on roads within their jurisdiction. Kawerau District Council is the Road Controlling Authority for all roads in the Kawerau District except State Highway 34, which is controlled by Transit New Zealand. The mechanism by which Council is granted the power to set speed limits is by making a bylaw.

This Bylaw is based on a model bylaw prepared by Standards New Zealand for use by road controlling authorities. It replaces the Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2005. All of the speed limits set by the 2005 bylaw are retained and responsibility for enforcement remains with the Police.

The Bylaw also allows for Council to alter speed limits in the future. An alteration of speed limits requires a separate and detailed procedure under the Land Transport Rule, involving extensive consultation with persons that may be affected.

This Bylaw is made under the powers granted to Territorial Authorities by Part 8 of the Local Government Act 2002, Land Transport Rule: Setting of Speed Limits 2003 and their subsequent amendments.

# Contents

1	Title	1
2	Commencement	1
3	Application of Bylaw	1
4	Scope	1
5	Definitions	1
6	Setting of Speed Limits	1
7	Altering Speed Limits or Areas	1
8	Schedules to this Bylaw	2
	Revocations	2
	Schedule 1: Roads with a speed limit of 20 km/h	3
	Schedule 2: Roads with a speed limit of 30 km/h	3
	Schedule 3: Roads with a speed limit of 40 km/h	3
	Schedule 4: Roads with an urban traffic area speed limit of 50 km/h	3
	Schedule 5: Roads with a speed limit of 60 km/h	4
	Schedule 6: Roads with a speed limit of 70 km/h	4
	Schedule 7: Roads with a speed limit of 80 km/h	4
	Schedule 8: Roads with a rural area speed limit of 100 km/h	4
	Schedule 9: Roads with a holiday speed limit	5
	Schedule10: Roads with a minimum speed limit	5

### Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2011

#### 1 Title

This Bylaw shall be known as the Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2011.

#### 2 Commencement

This Bylaw shall come into force on the 1<sup>st</sup> day of July 2011.

#### **3** Application of Bylaw

This Bylaw shall apply to all roads within the Kawerau District for which Council is the Road Controlling Authority, and includes all roads under the ownership or control of Council. State Highways are controlled by Transit New Zealand and are not included in this Bylaw.

#### 4 Scope

The purpose of this Bylaw is to set speed limits which minimise the risk to public safety and protect the freedom of road users to travel at speeds which are reasonable and appropriate.

#### 5 **Definitions**

For the purpose of this Bylaw, the following definitions apply:

COUNCIL means the Kawerau District Council.

ROAD, RURAL AREA, SPEED LIMIT and URBAN TRAFFIC AREA all mean the same as in the Land Transport Rule: Setting of Speed Limits 2003.

#### 6 Setting of Speed Limits

The roads or areas described in the attached Schedules are declared to have the speed limits specified in those Schedules.

All speed limits described in the attached Schedules are effective from the commencement date of this Bylaw.

#### 7 Altering Speed Limits or Areas

The Council may alter any speed limit, road or area set out in the attached Schedules by resolution, in accordance with the procedure set out in Land Transport Rule: Setting of Speed Limits 2003.

#### 8 Schedules to this Bylaw

The Schedules to this Bylaw are:

- . Schedule 1: Roads with a speed limit of 20 km/h
- Schedule 2: Roads with a speed limit of 30 km/h
- . Schedule 3: Roads with a speed limit of 40 km/h
- Schedule 4: Roads with an urban traffic area speed limit of 50 km/h
- Schedule 5: Roads with a speed limit of 60 km/h
- Schedule 6: Roads with a speed limit of 70 km/h
- . Schedule 7: Roads with a speed limit of 80 km/h
- . Schedule 8: Roads with a rural area speed limit of 100 km/h
- Schedule 9: Roads with a holiday speed limit
- Schedule 10: Roads with a minimum speed limit

#### Revocations

The Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2005 is hereby revoked.

The Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2011 was duly made by a resolution passed at a meeting of the Kawerau District Council held on 14 June 2011 following a special consultative procedure.

The Common Seal of the **Kawerau District Council** was affixed hereto in the presence of:

Mayor

Chief Executive Officer

Date

### Schedule 1: Roads with a speed limit of 20 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a speed limit of 20 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

### Schedule 2: Roads with a speed limit of 30 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a speed limit of 30 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

### Schedule 3: Roads with a speed limit of 40 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a speed limit of 40 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

### Schedule 4: Roads with an urban traffic area speed limit of 50 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to be an urban traffic area and to have a speed limit of 50 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
All the roads within the Kawerau District for which Council is the Road Controlling Authority, except those roads which are specified in the appropriate Schedule of this Bylaw as having a different speed limit.	1 July 2011	District Council Speed Limits	Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2005

### Schedule 5: Roads with a speed limit of 60 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a speed limit of 60 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

### Schedule 6: Roads with a speed limit of 70 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a speed limit of 70 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

### Schedule 7: Roads with a speed limit of 80 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a speed limit of 80 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

### Schedule 8: Roads with a rural area speed limit of 100 km/h

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to be rural areas and to have a speed limit of 100 km per hour.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
(Upper) Fenton Mill Road: from the southern end of Valley Road to the southern boundary of the Kawerau District (1400 metres)	1 July 2011	District Council	Kawerau District Council Speed Limits Bylaw 2005

### Schedule 9: Roads with a holiday speed limit

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a holiday speed limit as specified in this Schedule.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a

## Schedule10: Roads with a minimum speed limit

The roads or areas described in this Schedule are declared to have a minimum speed limit as specified in this Schedule.

Description	Effective date	Legal Instrument	Previous legal Instrument
No roads or areas	n/a	n/a	n/a