Site Index: A-F G-M N-S T-Z
+64 7 306 9009


This section provides information on matters affecting residents in the Kawerau community.

If you cannot find what you need in these pages, please phone us on (07) 306 9009 or have your say by completing one of our online forms.

Community awards

Over the years, Council has endeavoured to recognise members of the Kawerau community who have made significant contributions to the success of the community. This process has now been formalised into a Council Policy, Community Awards Click 28 kB

There are four categories for these Awards:

Inaugural presentation of community awards

The inaugural presentation of the community awards took place during Volunteer Week in June 2016. Congratulations to Bob Krause, Wally Kennedy and Monty Beard, the recipients of the inaugural Kawerau community awards. All three recipients have contributed significantly to our community in various ways and their efforts are appreciated.


 Congratulations too to Keep Kawerau Beautiful, which was also recognised at the awards ceremony held on 28 June.

Road safety

The Eastern Bay Road Safety Committee comprises staff and councillors from Whakatāne District Council, Ōpōtiki District Council, Kawerau District Council and Bay of Plenty Regional Council. This group gets about 75 percent of its funding from the New Zealand Transport Agency, and the other 25 percent is shared from councils. Many other contributing parties work with the committee, including police and community groups. For further information and recent documents see the Eastern Bay Road Safety Programme 

The committee provides funding to community groups working towards road safety objectives set out in the integrated Road Safety Action Plan and co-ordinates road safety campaigns.

The objective of this group is to increase your safety on the roads by using education, engineering and enforcement.

Eastern Bay Road Safety Facebook page