Site Index: A-F G-M N-S T-Z
+64 7 306 9009

2016 Local Elections

Declaration of Voting Results

The Declaration of Results of Election for the Kawerau District Council has now been issued. Election 2016 Final Declaration Click 221 kB

The final copy of the Daily Voting Returns Click 26 kB includes all Special votes, as well as all votes that were posted in or placed in the collection boxes.

Final List of Candidates

The final list of candidates is now available here: Final Candidate List Click

The Candidate Statements of all those standing for the Kawerau District Council can be downloaded here: 

Candidates for Mayor
Campbell. Malcolm Click Hay, Robert Click Penlington, Sarah Click


Candidates for Councillor
Anderson-Banks, Kay Click Brown, Lisa Click Campbell, Ron Click Dent, Brian Click
Godfery, Warwick Click Hay, Robert Click Ion, Carolyn Click Julian, Berice Click
Kingi, Sela Click Marjoribanks, Chris Click Penlington, Sarah Click Reynolds, Jenny Click
Savage, Rex Click Sparks, David Click Tuhoro, Stephen Click Tunui, Faylene Click

Electoral System Review (2015)

All local authorities are required to review their representation arrangements at least once every six years, in our case by 2015. On completion of the review process, Council resolved to retain the status quo for the 2016 Council elections. This means that the elections will be conducted using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system and that Maori representation will not be introduced.

Read more here: Representation Review 2016 Click 703 kB